top of page

Why alight?


Photo: April Wefler

People ask me why I moved abroad. I wanted to see the world, I tell them. God made this big, beautiful world and I wanted to see it. What I didn't expect was that by making that choice, God would lead me to something even greater - this magazine.

I have never wanted to be Editor-in-Chief of anything. Journalism is my dream, but as a reporter, or a sub-editor, or something that isn't in charge of a staff and seeing that the paper or magazine gets out by deadline. When I felt the tug to start a Christian magazine for young adults, I resisted. For months, the idea plagued me, and I continued to resist. It wasn't until several friends had just randomly told me I should start a magazine that I began to wonder if this really was a message from God and not just some idea I had concocted out of the blue.

And then, the co-founder of this magazine, Constance, said we should start a Christian magazine for young adults for the church. By that point, I knew it was much more than an idea, that it was something I needed to do. We initially considered a print magazine, but as I would be leaving the country soon and wanted to continue working on it when I was gone, we decided to create an online magazine.

So here it is - for young adults, by young adults, the people who are in your shoes. The people who have dealt with stressful jobs and cranky bosses, endless amounts of studying, fears of paying bills and balancing a social life with work while trying to have a relationship with God at the same time. We've been there. Some of us are still there. You are not alone. It's time to alight your life.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page