top of page

A journey in faith


Photo: Praise Eguare

I've been blessed to know and love Jesus Christ my entire life. I grew up in a Christian home, and although my childhood was far from perfect and there were quite a few moments I would never want to relive, I do have many happy memories with two parents who love both me and Jesus. I attended Sunday School, my sister and I were in all the church plays - one year, we were in two plays with two different churches at once - I accepted Jesus into my life at about six years old and I never once doubted that he was real.

But, I did doubt that I was legitimately saved. When the pastor would ask who wanted to know the Lord as their Saviour, I would often repeat the sinner's prayer. It wasn't until I was 12 at a church missions trip in Texas that I finally felt like I was truly saved and that year, I was also baptised.

By the time I reached secondary school, my church life was beginning to change. I attended a youth group that I often felt excluded from, particularly among the members of my age group. One girl who had greeted me warmly that Sunday was annoyed when I sat by her on the bus during a school trip later that week. I formed close friendships with the younger girls, but I started to hate going to Youth and, consequently, church.

When my best friend invited me to her church, I accepted, and I fell in love. It was a small, very small country church, the kind you read about in books like "Little House on the Prairie," and everyone was warm and friendly. There was hardly a Youth group, but that was okay, because there was a body of believers who loved and supported each other and although my decision to stop going to the other church caused some discord between my mother and me, I knew it was the right one.

But, then college hit, and with it, busy work hours, busy classes, a busy life. I moved away and couldn't find a church I connected with, so my attendance in church went from rare to none. By the time I graduated, I hadn't been to church in years, excepting the Christmas Eve services I would attend with my family. Additionally, I was barely reading my Bible. The one thing I did still do was pray, but the doubts started creeping in. I was terrified of going to hell but convinced that I was, thoughts that would often keep me up at night, until a close friend told me of 1 Timothy 4:12, a verse I would repeat every night before bed. Along with "Now I lay me down to sleep," it was the only way I could sleep.

Following graduation and a job search of five months that did not come to fruition, I moved back to Mom's while I sorted out my next step. I decided I wanted to apply for a working holiday visa to Ireland and prayed constantly that if it was what God wanted for me, He would make it happen. He did; a visa that normally took eight weeks came in only two, and I was on my way to Iceland for a visit, and then to Ireland. I had no idea that by making the move abroad, I was about to strengthen my relationship with Christ.

The day I arrived, my mom looked up churches on Google and found a place called Cork Church. She insisted I go to it, telling me she felt they would have the answers I required, as I had entered into the country without a job, a place to stay or the knowledge of a single soul. With only six nights in two hostels booked, I had no idea where I would go from there. The idea of attending church again didn't appeal to me in the slightest, but I knew that if I didn't, I would never hear the end of it. After an hour-long nap and a shower, I reluctantly decided to go.

Nearly an hour later and 40 minutes after the young adults group had started, I was certain no one would be there when I arrived. But when I did finally find the place, a woman and her husband were speaking about their move to Ireland, a country where they didn't know anyone, from their home so far away. It was exactly what I needed to hear, that message of hope, and I sat there in rapt attention.

Afterwards, I hung back, trying to work up the courage to introduce myself. Thankfully, two wonderful girls took it upon themselves, and the next thing I knew, I was being introduced to a third girl, who would ultimately become like a big sister to me. She took my contact information and invited me to a birthday party that Tuesday, which I decided to attend. Meeting a fourth girl at the party, I was asked if I was attending church Wednesday night and decided I might as well. And that night is when my Christian life began to be revitalised.

I met one of the pastors after church, who was told that I was looking for a place to stay. He said they might have a room and that Friday, another of the pastors called me to tell me that they did indeed. I moved into my new house that Saturday, the exact day when I needed to leave the hostel and I attended church every Sunday morning, Sunday night and Wednesday night, until I began working.

The first month of my new job was devastating. I hadn't been able to get my PPS (SSN) number in time, nor a bank account, and my job wouldn't pay me for a month. It had taken me two months to find a job and I had little cash left in the bank account back home. I had to rely solely on God and his goodness that month, and my paycheck came just as I had $40 left on my credit card and very little money left in the bank.

Through a particularly stressful job that was often emotionally wearing, I began to dive back into the Word of God. I started chronologically, inspired by my roommate, who had been told by her missions leader to read the Bible like a book. I did, and have since. My church life reinvigorated, my prayer life going strong and reading the Scripture again, I began to feel like an entirely different person. I had always been full of hope and optimism, but it was increased tenfold.

Two jobs later, I was offered an internship in my dream career. I was finally doing what I wanted to do, I loved my church and had found a family there and I had so many close friends. Everything was going amazingly.

Then, I received word from back home that a woman who had been like a second mother to me was in a coma. Two weeks later, she was gone.

It was a rough time for me, but it helped that she had been this incredible woman of God. I knew that I would one day see her again, but knowing that I was unable to attend her funeral being so far away was difficult. If it hadn't been for my church family, I'm not sure I would've gotten through it.

Bottom line: God has been with me my entire life, through every tear I've cried and every step I've taken, and I know He will continue to be with me in whatever comes next. Because I have a good, good Father who knew me before I was even formed in my mother's womb and will always love and shelter me. I feel like I've lived Philippians 4:12-13. As Casting Crowns said, "I will soar with the wings of eagles when I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus singing over me."

Praise the Lord.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page